Coconut Almond Macaroons and A Lovely Giveaway!

I know I’ve been MIA for a few weeks. I’m sorry! I’ve been helping a friend with her new venture, so I had to put some of my own adventures on hold for just a little while.

To make up for it, I have the best giveaway for you!  Enter to win volumes 1-4 of The Gathering of Friends Cookbooks by liking this post and subscribing to my blog.  Super easy!

AND I have something really special to share with you. It’ll be a gift that keeps on giving, I promise! You might not even make it to the end of the blog post before you bust out your Kitchen Aid. Especially after seeing these beauties…

coconut_almond_macaroons_recipe_plate_of_macaroons

I found this recipe in the cookbook series The Gathering of Friends. Judy Baggett of Judy Baggett Interior Design found this set of cookbooks that were written by interior designer, Michelle Huxtable. I completely relate to her philosophy that food is a love language and home cooked meals are an expression of oneself.

Almond_coconut_macaroons_The_gathering_Friemds_cookbook_volume_3

The Gathering of Friends cookbooks are a compilation of favorite recipes gathered from friends, family and clients. And theses meals are beautifully staged on gorgeous tablescapes. The author of the cookbooks tested every recipe, and each page is structured by entire meals.

The books are beautiful and clearly designed by a chef. The pages are glossy so that you can easily wipe away any splatters.  The book is spiral bound so that the cookbook will lay flat on the counter as you reference your recipe while you bake and cook, AND there is a grocery list included for all of the recipes.

This cookbook is certainly an inspiration to cook a homemade meal every night, especially since the recipes look so enticing!

Almond_coconut_macaroons_The_gathering_of_Friends_Cookbook_Open

Judy loved these cookbooks, and she was so sweet to give me a set for Christmas, and they’ve been on my nightstand ever since.

Cookbooks make the best gifts … I don’t know what it is about them, but they make me happy, like winning a radio show sweepstakes happy.

Well, Michelle Huxtable was so kind to give me a set of The Gathering of Friends cookbooks to give away to one of my awesome readers! That is volumes one through four party people!

the_gathering_of_friends_giveaway_coconut_almond_macaroon_post

All you have to do is subscribe to my blog, and “like” the post. I’ll announce a winner on May 1st.

Easy, Peezy, Lemon-Squeezy!

Now…back to these almond macaroons…

What I love about this recipe is that these amazing almond macaroons are gluten free.

And what I REALLY love about this recipe are the chopped almonds sprinkled with the lightest butterfly kiss of sea salt. Take the macaroons you love and kick them up a notch with this recipe! The salty and sweet, chewy, coconutty yumminess is just out of control!

coconut_almond_macaroons_recipe_chopped_almonds

This macaroon recipe is so simple, it’s got ingredients that are always in my pantry and fridge. Look at these cute little snow balls…. aww…

Almond_coconut_macaroons_Coconut_Dough

You can dip these macaroons in chocolate, or drizzle them with chocolate, or not. These almond macaroons are delicious naked too! The almonds roast while baking and become the perfect kind of crunchy and have that delicious roasted nutty flavor that makes them addicting, the meringue and coconut become that lovely kind of chewy, and that butterfly kiss of sea salt, well..that is what makes this macaroon recipe over the top delicious! OVER THE TOP!

Almond_coconut_macaroons_recipe_gluten_free

Oh baby…

Do your family and friends a sweet favor, show them you love them and I know how much you love to impress them with your baking prowess… this recipe will accomplish all of those things… promise.

Almond Macaroon Recipe

4 Egg Whites
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp Kosher Salt ( I used a scant tsp of sea salt)
1 cup Sugar (I reduced this to 2/3 of a cup, since I don’t like my macaroons too sweet and the coconut is already sweetened)
4 1/4 cup Shredded Coconut
1 cup raw almonds, chopped
1 cup dark chocolate chips, optional

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Beat egg whites and half teaspoon of salt until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, one tablespoon at a time. Add vanilla. Beat until stiff peaks form. Gently fold in coconut. On a baking sheet, arrange little piles of the chopped almonds by the teaspoon 2 to 3 inches apart. Sprinkle the almonds lightly with the remaining salt. Using two teaspoons or a cookie scooper, drop rounded mounds of the coconut dough on top of the chopped almonds. If you make your mounds as big as I did, they’ll take 30-35 minutes to bake, if you make smaller ones, they will take about 20 minutes. Just keep an eye on them and once they are golden brown, they are done!

If you’d like to drizzle these with chocolate, melt the chocolate chips in a ziplock bag on medium heat in your microwave and snip a small hole in the corner and drizzle the chocolate over the baked macaroons.

If you’d like to dip your macaroons in chocolate, you can melt the chocolate in the microwave as I described above or you use a double boiler. Once your chocolate is melted, tip the macaroons top side or almond side down. My favorite is almond side down. Place on wax paper and let the chocolate set.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Coconut Almond Macaroons and A Lovely Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Giveaways and Food News Roundup (as of March 31, 2012) | Danny's Kitchen

  2. I couldn’t figure out how to subscribe via e-mail, but I follow on GFC as Carolsue an Twitter as MsCarolsueA. Also likied the post as Carolsue.

Leave a Comment

