Luscious Chocolate Covered Strawberries

I happened across some delightfully sweet strawberries this last weekend.   It was all I could do to not eat all of them before they had a chance to become a part of a delicious dessert.  I had to guard them from the family, too.    They were huge, and a delicious dark red, and they smelled as good as they tasted.  I can almost smell the memory of them now…

Chocolate_covered_strawberries_Tray_of_chocolate_covered_strawberriesYou see, these strawberries were fated to be a big part of my weekend.  I was craving chocolate covered strawberries all last week, and the dream never died.  So we grabbed a big basket full of these sweet strawberries and a big block of Belgian Milk Chocolate from Trader Joe’s and went to town!

Chocolate_Covered_Strawberries_Recipe_three_chocolate_covered_strawberriesAt first, I tried to make only a dozen chocolate covered strawberries and leave the rest of the strawberries for another dessert.  But after I dipped the first strawberry in perfectly melted milk chocolate, I immediately prepped at least a dozen more strawberries for the same yummy chocolate bath.

chocolate_Covered_strawberries_milk_chocolate_covered_strawberriesGood thing, too, because my honey hovered over the tray of them and devoured most of them in the time it took me to bring a small plate of these over to our neighbor’s house.  I’m surprised I was able to take any pictures of these luscious lovelies!

Chocolate_Covered_Strawberries_tray_of_chocolate_covered_strawberries_with_drizzleDon’t save making chocolate covered strawberries for Valentine’s Day.  Chocolate covered strawberries make any day special.  They really are an anytime food.

They’re so easy to make and quick to pull off.  These were a relaxing way to spend my Friday night in.  Everyone was dying to try one.   I kept hearing, “Can I have one yet?”  and 30 seconds later, “…How ‘bout now?”  I swear the anticipation of enjoying one of these little beauties was worse than a child the night before a trip to Disneyland!

chocolate_covered_strawberries_recipe_Chocolate_covered_strawberry

They kept wondering in the kitchen, peeking over my shoulder, saying things like, “Wow…those look really yummy…  How long until we can eat one?” and, “Can I just try one?  Just a small one?  …How about one of the ugly ones?”

Chocolate_covered_strawberries_Recipe_Plate_OF_chocolate_covered_StrawberriesYeah…I’m pretty sure chocolate covered strawberries are considered a healthy dessert…

This is what your day looks like when it starts with chocolate covered strawberries for breakfast…

Chocolate_Covered_Strawberries_Del_Mar_BeachGo ahead, find yourself some sweet and tasty strawberries and a block of good chocolate, make some chocolate covered strawberries.  Make them for your honey, or for your girlfriends, make them for yourself.  Just make them…  They say, “I love you.”  They scream, “You’re special to me.”  I think I also heard these chocolate covered lovelies say, “I’m delicious!”  and, “I’m so, so yummy…”  See for yourself…

Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe

8-10 oz Milk Chocolate, or Dark Chocolate, or Semi Sweet Chocolate, or White Chocolate, chopped
24 large Strawberries
4 oz White Chocolate, for drizzling (optional)

Rinse your strawberries, and leave the stems/leaves on them so that you have something to hold onto when you dip them in chocolate.  I used a paper towel and gently dabbed them dry, so that they would dip well in the chocolate.

Line a cookie sheet with wax paper and set aside.

Using a double boiler, or a heat proof bowl set over simmering water.  Make sure the bowl does not touch the water!!!  It will burn the chocolate.

Place the chocolate in your heat proof bowl, make sure no steam or water touches the chocolate, this will ruin it and you’ll have to start over.  Once the chocolate starts to melt, stir until melted and smooth.  Turn off the heat but keep the heat proof bowl over the hot water, this will keep your chocolate melted while you’re dipping your strawberries.

Dip the strawberries into the chocolate and gently shake off any access chocolate.  Place on a cookie sheet.

For the white chocolate drizzle, I placed the white chocolate in a ziplock bag and melted it in the microwave for 1 minute at 50% power.  I mushed it around in the ziplock bag to make it smooth and then I clipped a small hole (very small) in the corner of the bag.  I used the ziplock bag as a pastry bag and drizzled the white chocolate over the chocolate covered strawberries.  If the white chocolate is a little too thick for drizzling, then add a TINY bit of vegetable oil and mix it in well, this will thin the chocolate out a little bit.

You can let the strawberries set at room temperature, or if you’re in a hurry, you can place them in the refrigerator for them to harden.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Luscious Chocolate Covered Strawberries

  1. Pingback: 15 Romantic Desserts

Leave a Comment

