My Glowing Green Smoothie

Now that we’re halfway through February, some of us may have already given up on our New Year’s Resolutions.  I have just the ticket to spark some motivation to keep eating healthy!

My favorite habit that I picked up in 2011 is Kimberly Snyder’s Glowing Green Smoothie from her book The Beauty Detox Solution.  Clearly, based on my blog… I’m not the best “blossoming beauty” that I could be.  But these smoothies help keep me on track.  They’ve replaced my triple soy latte in the morning, and I have more energy than I can shake a stick at!  If you need more reasons to try these green smoothies, read this blog post by Zoe V.

Glowing_Green_Smoothie_Recipe_Ingredients

Don’t let this bright green beverage discourage you.  I promise that they are delicious AND very very very NUTRITIOUS!  These smoothies will change your world for the better.  I’ve adapted Kimberly Snyder’s recipe for her Glowing Green Smoothie and made it my own and now I can’t live without them.  PLUS this Glowing Green Smoothie Recipe provides at least 5 to 7 servings of your daily fruits and vegetables in one smoothie!  Top that!

I don’t have time to make a fresh smoothie every morning, so once a week, I whip up a few batches and freeze them to last me the entire week.  Then, each morning I take one out of the freezer and place it in the fridge to defrost for the next morning.  It’s the perfect fix for a fruity, delicious smoothie breakfast and it’s packed with dark leafy greens and nutrients.

I highly recommend that you add this to your daily regimen.  What better way to cram in all of those dark leafy greens into your diet?  I couldn’t possible eat that much salad in a day.  Plus, it’s raw, which means that I’m not cooking out all of those precious nutrients.

Glwoing_Green_smoothie_recipe

I’ve converted just about everyone closest to me to drinking these glowing green smoothies each morning for breakfast.  I’ve noticed a huge difference in my skin, energy, health and just how I feel each day. I used to have HORRIBLE SKIN, and thanks to these smoothies and a few healthier decisions each day, my skin is the clearest and healthiest it has ever been.

Most importantly…I hardly have “fat days” or “frump girl” days anymore!  …now THAT makes it totally worth it!  And with all of the baking we’ve been doing and dreaming about together…I think we owe it to ourselves to do something that isn’t just good for our souls, but is also good for our bodies.

This is my Glowing Green Smoothie recipe, feel free to tweak it to your liking.  Depending on what is in season, or what is in my fridge, I change out the green grapes or pears for different fruit.  Some of my favorite swaps are pineapple, peaches or nectarines, and papaya.  I also like to add a little cucumber, celery and parsley if you have it on hand.

Glowing Green Smoothie Recipe

Makes 4 servings

1 ½ cups water
½ head of Romaine Lettuce
½ bunch of Spinach
½ bunch of Kale
1 Apple
1 Pear
1 Banana
1 cup green grapes
¼-½ cup Lime or Lemon Juice

In a high quality blender, (if you can get your hands on one…I would use a Vitamix) pour in 1 cup of the water, and start blending in the romaine lettuce, then add your kale, and spinach.  Add more water as you go to keep the blender going smoothly.  Blend in your apple, pear, banana, and green grapes.  Lastly, add your lime or lemon juice.  Blend until VERY smooth!  You can add more water based on how thick you like your smoothies.

The smoothie will last 2-3 days in the refrigerator or you can freeze it if you’d like.  I usually pour them into individual servings and place one or two in the fridge and the rest in the freezer for the rest of the week.  I make these for my mom and dad to have every morning, and each week we typically make 4-6 batches for the three of us to have one for breakfast each day.  Sometimes I’ll take an extra one to have with lunch, but I highly recommend you have at least one Glowing Green Smoothie for breakfast a day.

4 thoughts on “My Glowing Green Smoothie

  1. I made a batch tonight for me and my mom! (I’m trying to convert her too). Thanks for the nice picture of ingredients all together. That really helped explain how to make them.

  2. Pingback: Refreshing Anti-Inflammatory Glowing Green Smoothie » The Dessert Spot

Leave a Comment

