Kissably Cute Hot Cocoa

I’m feeling the pressure for Valentine’s Day.  Like elementary school gotta-have-the-coolest-Valentines kind of pressure.

I wish we still had construction paper “mail boxes” for people to drop off their cute Valentines.  Except, this year, instead of cartoon Valentines, I’d step up my game, and my cuteness and make these little lovelies.

Valentines_Day_Hot_Cocoa_Mix_ConesI busted these out over a couple epidsodes of The Big Bang Theory.  They are so easy, inexpensive and quick to put together.  I thought this would be something my girlfriends would love, and that it would make them feel loved.  Because you are…you were the first lovelies I thought of when this idea popped into my mind.

They remind me when my best friend and I made peppermint hot cocoa cones for her students one Christmas.  We were up all night busting these babies out like a sweat shop!  I wouldn’t trade that night for anything though…

Valentines_Day_Hot_Cocoa_Mix_conesI found these cute pink and white heart marshmallows and couldn’t resist buying them.  I’ll admit that, initially, I didn’t know what I was going to do with them.  When I got home, I miraculously found disposable pastry bags, a jar of hot cocoa mix, and chocolate chips, and immediately knew what I had to do.

If your pantry isn’t as magical as mine was today, then you can get all of these ingredients for your Hot Cocoa Cones at just about any grocery store.  I’m pretty sure you could score all this loot for at least 12 Hot Cocoa Cones for under $12.  If you can find cheaper plastic cones other than disposable pastry bags, which tend to be expensive, you will save even more money.

It is important to point out that Hot Cocoa or Hot Chocolate, in my opinion, must be made with milk (or soy milk, or rice milk, or coconut milk).  Definitely not with water, it’s just not nearly as comforting or satisfying without that yummy creaminess.

Hot Cocoa Mix Cones Recipe

1/4 cup Hot Cocoa Mix
1 Tbsp Chocolate Chips
2 Cute Heart Shaped Marshmallows (you can substitute mini marshmallows here without too much trouble)
1 plastic cone

I created a funnel out of wax paper by rolling it on the diagonal and taping it together.  This came in handy so that hot cocoa mix didn’t get all over my plastic cone.  On top of the hot cocoa mix, place the chocolate chips and then the marshmallows. Tie the plastic cone shut with ribbon or a twist-tie.

If you want to add a lil somethin’ add a dash of ground cinnamon or a cinnamon stick.  Maybe even some chili pepper to make to spicy and sultry.

Dairy-Free Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe

It is important to note that this recipe is to be used with your choice of milk (i.e. soy, rice, coconut, etc.) since this does not contain any dry milk.  Other wise you will get chocolately water.

for 1 batch (12 servings):
1 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
2 cups Sugar (ideally Vanilla Sugar)
1/4 tsp Salt

for 1 serving:
1 1/2 Tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
2 1/2 Tbsp Sugar
Pinch of Salt (very small pinch)

Mix all ingredients together and use in the cone recipe above.

To make the vanilla sugar, simply cut a vanilla bean in half lengthwise and let it sit in an airtight container of sugar for a few days or a week…Poof!  Vanilla sugar!  It’ll make this hot cocoa extra special…and yummy!

Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

