Refreshing and Hydrating Strawberry Watermelon and Cucumber Smoothie

For my dad’s birthday today we went sailing and on the ride back to the house, I was craving Dr. Pepper like it was the answer to my prayers.  Instead of heading for a drive-thru to get a small soda pop, I went home and created a thirst quenching, hydrating and healthy smoothie.  I used what I happened to have in my fridge: frozen strawberries, watermelon and cucumber.

Strawberry_watermelon_cucumber_smoothie_recipe

My watermelon has a ton of little seeds, so I blended that first and strained it.  Then I blended in the cucumber and frozen strawberries to make a delicious and healthy smoothie.  I haven’t thought twice about that Dr. Pepper either!  If you’re questioning the cucumber in this smoothie, read about why they’re so good for you here.

I think you could spike this with rum, tequila, or vodka if you want to kick it up a notch.  Especially since it’s the Super Bowl today.

strawberry_watermelon_cucmber_smoothie_recipe

Strawberry Watermelon and Cucumber Smoothie Recipe

1 cup Frozen Strawberries
1 cup Watermelon
1/2 cup Cucumber

If you have a really good blender, you won’t need to skin the cucumber, which is great since that is where most of the nutrients are.  Also, if you don’t have a seedless watermelon, than I would suggest blending the watermelon first and straining it to remove the seeds before blending the rest of your smoothie.

Blend the watermelon first.  This will create yummy sweet watermelon juice for the rest of your smoothie so you don’t have to dilute the flavors with water or other juices that will increase the calories and/or the sugar in your smoothie.  Then blend in your cucumbers.  Lastly, blend in the frozen strawberries.  Blend until your smoothies is nice and smooth.  If you want your smoothie to be sweeter, you can add more watermelon.

Double, triple, or quadruple the recipe if you’re making this for guests.  It’s a great addition for the health conscious!

Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

