My Double Date with Oatmeal Cookies

I’ve been craving oatmeal cookies for over two weeks.  Daydreaming about their homey oatmeal sweetness hugging bits of dark chocolate and dried cherries and shredded coconut, and comforting chewy bites of oatmeal cookies with pistachios and cranberries…

Oatmeal_Cookies_recipe_chocolate_cherries_coconutWhat is it about oatmeal cookies?  My dad took some of these oatmeal cookies to work and they didn’t last five minutes.  I have some waiting for me in a cookie jar at home that I can’t wait to tear into.

Oatmeal_cookies_Recipe_Chocolate_cherries_coconut_DoughThey are so quick and easy to make, and I always have the necessary ingredients hanging out in my pantry, practically begging to become one of these delicious oatmeal cookies.

I took a small risk on these little lovelies.  I used brown rice flour instead of all-purpose flour.  If you make sure that your oats are gluten-free, you’ve just created gluten-free oatmeal cookies!  No one would even guess, suspect or accuse these oatmeal cookies of being gluten-free.  The texture and flavor is perfection!  Maybe even better!

Oatmeal_cookies_recipe_Pistacios_Cranberries_coconut_doughYou can keep these oatmeal cookies OG with raisins and walnuts if you want.  Or have some fun with different combinations.  This time I had to satisfy my cravings, so I made half a batch with dark chocolate, dried cherries and coconut.
Oatmeal_Cookies_recipe_Chocolate_Cherries_coconut_ingredientsAnd the other half with pistachios, cranberries and coconut.

Oatmeal_Cookies_Recipe_Pistachios_cranberries_Coconut_IngredientsI’m not sure which cookie is my favorite…  I really can’t pick one over the other.  You’ll just have to bake them and decide for yourself!

oatmeal_cookies-recipe_Pistachio_cranberries_coconut_baked

Oatmeal Cookies Recipe

2 cups brown rice flour, or all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup white sugar (you can leave this out or reduce it by 1/4 cup, depending on how sweet you like your cookies)
1 1/2 cups brown sugar, firmly packed
2 eggs
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups quick cooking oats, or regular rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Combine the brown rice flour (or all-purpose flour), baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar together until smooth.  Beat in eggs, one at a time until light and fluffy, then mix in the vanilla.  In thirds, mix in the flour mixture until just combined. Mix in the oats.  Lastly, mix in whatever ingredients you’re craving.  See my variations below (These measurements are for the entire batch of the oatmeal cookie recipe.  If you want to do two of the variations with one batch of the oatmeal cookie recipe, then just half the amounts of the mix-ins).

Dark Chocolate, Cherries and Coconut Oatmeal Cookies:

2 cups Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
2 cups Dried Cherries, chopped
2 cups Shredded Coconut

Pistachio, Cranberries and Coconut Oatmeal Cookies:

2 cups Pistachios
2 cups Dried Cranberries
2 cups Shredded Coconut

A little secret my mother taught me about using dried fruit in baking is to soak them before adding them to the recipe.  I recommend you soak cherries, cranberries, or raisins in warm milk or water for a 3-5 minutes, strain and pat dry with a paper towel, prior to mixing them into your cookie dough.  It makes a difference…a good difference.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “My Double Date with Oatmeal Cookies

  1. just made some tonight, they are so good! I doubled the recipe, and added chocolate chips and cranberries, follow the recipe, they come out good! I cut down the suger, so the cookies are very tasty!

    thank you for share the recipe with us!

    suzie

Leave a Comment

