Amazing Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

I try to make gluten and dairy a “sometimes food.”  Eliminating gluten and dairy would be just about impossible, especially since I love butter and french bread.  I have lots of friends that have food allergies, especially with dairy and gluten.  So this is an extra special recipe just for those of us that need to be dairy and gluten conscious.

At least 6 months ago, I created a delicious gluten-free chocolate chip cookie recipe and made the horrible mistake of not writing it down and forgetting the measurements of the ingredients.  That recipe was amazing, no one could tell they were gluten free, and everyone raved about how delicious they were.  One of the greatest regrets of my life.  Especially when I get constant requests for me to make them again.

Dairy_Free_Gluten_Free_Chocolate_Chip_Cookies_recipeThis weekend I did some gluten-free experimenting.  I was determined to recreate this gluten-free recipe.  This time, I created a dairy-free and gluten-free chocolate chip cookie recipe.  What I love about this recipe is that you’ll likely only have 3 ingredients that aren’t already in your typical arsenal of baking supplies: coconut flour, brown rice flour, and coconut oil.

They were rich and chewy, with crispy edges.  Just the way a chocolate chip cookie should be.  These cookies really give you something to bite into.  They are satisfying on every level.  They taste buttery and comforting just like a regular chocolate chip cookie.  They may be dairy-free and gluten-free, but you are certainly not without with this cookie!  I think I might like them better than most non-gluten-free chocolate chip cookies.

It took a couple batches to get it right.  The first batch tasted delicious, but the cookies didn’t flatten, they stayed round little mounds (as you can see in the top left of the picture).  So, I changed the proportion of coconut flour and brown rice flour in the recipe, and added more baking soda.  The result: dairy-free and gluten-free chocolate chip cookies that actually look like cookies and taste phenomenal!

dairy_free_gluten_free_chocolate_chip_cookies_recipeTry it, I’m sure you’ll love it.

Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

6 Tbsp Coconut Oil, softened
½ cup Brown Sugar, firmly packed
¼ cup Sugar
1 Egg
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
¾ cup Brown Rice Flour
¼ cup Coconut Flour
½ tsp Baking Soda
¼ tsp Salt
1 cup Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
½ cup Walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Combine coconut flour, brown rice flour, baking soda, and salt together and set aside.  In a separate bowl, cream together the coconut oil and sugar together until smooth.  Add egg and mix until fluffy.  Mix in vanilla extract.  Mix in your dry ingredients in thirds.  Mix in chocolate chips and walnuts.  Using a cookie scoop, space the cute little mounds of dough two inches apart on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, or until the edges turn golden brown.  Remove them from the cookie sheet and cool on a wire rack until you can’t take it anymore and have to eat one.  Store cooled cookies in an airtight container.

For crispier cookies, bake at 350°F, for chewier cookies, bake at 325°F.  Makes 2 dozen cookies.

A note about where to buy the ingredients:

You can find the coconut flour, brown rice flour and coconut oil pretty easily at Sprouts Farmer’s Market, Whole Foods, or Earthgrown Market (formerly Boney’s Marketplace).

Bob’s Red Mill brand has brown rice flour and coconut flour.  There are other brands out there, and they all have different textures.

I’ve tried Bob’s Red Mill Coconut Flour, and Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Flour (I found this at Sprouts).  I personally prefer Coconut Secret Coconut Flour because it produces a less gritty texture in my cookies.  But I recommend you try them for yourself and see what you like best based on your experience.

For Coconut Oil, things can get pretty pricey.  I prefer to use raw coconut oil.  I have found organic virgin coconut oil at Trader Joe’s for just $5.99 for a 16oz jar, which is a great price.  Otherwise, I’ve found it at Earthgrown Market for about $7 to $8 dollars and at Sprouts for $8 to $10 a jar.

2 thoughts on “Amazing Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I just finished your amazing oatmeal cookies, and I can just imagine how wonderful the chocolate chip ones are! Great work!

Leave a Comment

