Healthy and Delicious Smoothies

I’ve finally come out of my cave to greet the world…or at least my kitchen.  Last Friday I volunteered myself for a tonsilectomy and have survived off of smoothies and water for the past five days.  The worst part about it is I torture myself by spending my days watching Chef Roble marathons and the Food Network.  Bobby Flay’s Barbeque Addiction has me chomping at the bit to get outdoors and barbeque.  Seriously, I really want to build a woodfire oven in my backyard, too.  My experience is similar to prison, except instead of carving tallies of the days on the wall, I’ve started a journal of everything I’m dying to cook and bake.  Oh dear, I hope I don’t miss out on all of the delicious food my mom will be cooking on Chinese New Year.  That’s got to be bad luck or something.

So about these healthy and delicious smoothies.  In the real world, when I don’t dread taking a sip of water, these smoothies are some of my favorite healthy breakfasts and desserts.  I bust these out when I need a healthy but sweet treat.  Check out my favorite Berry Banana Smoothie.

Berry_Banana_Smoothie_recipeI usually make this for breakfast if I don’t have all the greens to make my Glowing Green Smoothie, or I want something a little fruitier.  I always have a stock of berries and bananas in my freezer for cravings like this.  It’s a great way to store fruit that you couldn’t eat fast enough, and bananas that just ripen too fast. (Remember to peel the bananas before you freeze them!)

And when I need something a little heavier, to replace a meal or have a healthy chocolatey dessert, I whip up a Soy Chocolate Banana Smoothie.  It’s just like a milkshake but much, much healthier.

Soy_Chocolate_Banana_Smoothie_RecipeThis smoothie definitely satisfies chocolate cravings.  Even my dad, who detests soy milk loves this, and has used it to replace his typical bowl of ice cream.  If you want it even more chocolatey, you can add chocolate syrup to it.  And if you don’t like soy milk, you can use almond, rice or coconut milk.

Very Berry Banana Smoothie

3-4 medium to large Frozen Strawberries
1/3 cup Frozen Blackberries
1/2 cup Frozen Blueberries
1/2 Frozen Banana
3/4 cup Water

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.  You can adjust the amount of water you use depending on how thick you want your smoothie.  I like my smoothies relatively thick.  These smoothies can be stored in the refrigerator for two-three days.

Soy Chocolate Banana Smoothie

3/4 cup Chocolate Soy Milk
1/2 Frozen Banana

Blend both ingredients together until smooth.  Feel free to use whatever milk you like.  You can add more banana if you want a stronger banana flavor, or add more syrup if you want it more chocolatey.  If you only have fresh, rather than frozen, bananas, I would mix in 1/2 cup of ice to thicken it up a bit.  I don’t recommend using ice if you plan on storing this smoothie in the fridge, as it will just dilute its deliciousness.

2 thoughts on “Healthy and Delicious Smoothies

  1. Thanks for the soy chocolate banana smoothie idea sounds delicious I’m going to have to try that. I make a berry one like yours in the morning but I sometimes add a little splash of orange juice. What do you use for your green smoothie?

    • I used to use fruit juice too, I use water now because it has less calories and I’m trying to eat raw as much as possible. Since most fruit juice is pasteurized I try to avoid it, it also has a higher glycemic index then fresh fruit or fresh squeezed juice, so I use water and it’s just as delicious, just not super sweet. I will post my green smoothie recipe soon! It has all kinds of dark leafy greens and fruit blended into refreshing yumminess!

Leave a Comment

