The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite cookie.  I know that people are very opinionated about what makes the best chocolate chip cookie.  I wouldn’t dare try to convince you otherwise.  The best chocolate chip cookies, for me, are chewy with slightly crispy edges, and a tender crumb.  They are buttery and rich, not too sweet, and have semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips.  Add some shredded coconut and chopped walnuts and you got yourself heaven in a cookie!  Sandwich chocolate chip ice cream in between two chewy chocolate chip cookies, and we may be soulmates.

I created this recipe from tweaking a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks, Cooking A-Z.  I did some experimenting and created a recipe that my family and friends LOVE!

The_Best_Chocolate_Chip_Cookie_Recipe_Ingredients

This is one of my favorite things to bake.  I think it’s an association created from childhood.  Back when I didn’t like chocolate chips in my chocolate chip cookies.  My mom would make a special batch without the chocolate chips just for me.  Now that is love!

Now, I like lots of chocolate chips in my chocolate chip cookies…  Look at these tiny beauties.  Don’t they look dreamy?

The_Best_Chocolate_Chip_Cookie_Recipe_Chocolate_Chips

Now if I were making a batch just for myself, I’d add shredded coconut and chopped toasted walnuts.  However, this batch was for an afternoon snack for my friends, so I had to stick to the OG recipe.

The_Best_Chocolate_Chip_Cookie_Recipe_Dough

Scoop these onto a cookie sheet with a cookie scooper (totally worth the investment!) Look at these cute little babies…

The_Best_Chocolate_Chip_Cookie_Recipe_Cookie_Sheet

I always get a feeling of hope and anticipation that they will grow up to be perfect little cookies…  The chocolate chip cookie equivalent of graduating college. If you’re going to make little chocolate chip cookies, you want to be proud of those little suckers!

It’s hard to take pictures of these cookies, people kept eating them.  This is all I could gather for my picture.  I had to guard them like a mama bear.

The_Best_Chocolate_Chip_Cookie_Recipe_Cookies

Be generous with these.  Bring them to work, bake them for friends for game night.  Even better, bake them for your honey, so they’re the first thing he smells when he walks through the door after a long day at work.  They say, “I know you’ve had a rough day, look what I’ve made to make it better.”  Very Mrs. Robinson.

Recipe for The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/2 c. Bread Flour
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1/4 tsp. Salt

1/2 c. Butter (1 stick)
3/4 c. Dark Brown Sugar, firmly packed
1/4 c. Sugar (Optional, leave this out if you don’t want super sweet cookies)
1 Egg
2 tsp. Vanilla
1 c. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips or Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
1/2 c. Chopped Toasted Walnuts (optional)
1/2 c. Shredded Coconut (optional)

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Combine bread flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar together until smooth.  Add Egg and blend until light and fluffy.  Add Vanilla and blend well.  Mix flour mixture in thirds, until just combined.  Mix in chocolate chips, and if you desire, the walnuts and coconut.

Use a cookie scooper and place dough 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 13 minutes, or until the edges are a golden brown, rotate cookie sheet halfway through baking time to insure cookies bake evenly.  Cool on wire rack.

Note:

If you want crispy chocolate chip cookies, bake the cookies at 350°F.
If you want chewy chocolate chip cookies
, bake the cookies at 325°F

One thought on “The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Comment

