Extraordinary Desserts

Karen Krasne is the fouder and mastermind behind the absolute best dessert spot in San Diego: Extraordinary Desserts.  I probably visit this dessert haven at least once a month, sometimes once a weekend…
Entrance_to_Extraordinary_Desserts_Balboa_Park


My personal favorite location is the one in Balboa Park, right on 5th st.  It has a very romantical patio that’s heated for perfect candlelit date nights.  Walk in, have someone save your spot in line, sneak up to the display case, and stare open-mouthed at the day’s specials.  Take your time, it’s a very important decision, get exactly what you’re craving.  Grab a table on the patio and anticipate the best dessert experience of your life…
Extraordinary_Desserts_Patio_San_Diego_Balboa_Park
Even better… Extraordinary Dessert’s patio is dog friendly.  So my little pip-squeak can tag along with me and wag her tail at the people that pass by.
Lily_at_Extraordinary_Desserts
Sometimes she flirts with the people that catch her eye through the window.  Usually she just sits patiently and waits for me to give her treats.
Extraordinary_Desserts_Lily_Treats
My favorite cakes?  Well… I’m not sure if you can call it “a favorite” if it’s all of them…  5-10 different desserts come to mind when presented with such a difficult question.  Good thing they rotate the cakes and desserts on the menu, otherwise I’d never be able to decide on just one, or three.  How about everytime I visit and order a new favorite, I’ll post it on here so you can see for yourself why it’s so difficult to name a favorite.  It’s like asking the Duggar’s to name a favorite child. Hardly seems like the right thing to do.

I was able to choose three little lovelies during my last visit.  Like this charming little White Chocolate Linzer Torte.  Hazelnut almond cake, layered with white chocolate buttercream, raspberries and a nut meringue.  I think they baked extra love in this one…I could totally taste it.
Extraordinary_Desserts_White_Chocolate_Linzer_Torte
Or, this!  A slice of Dulce de Leche Cake… layers of rich chocolate cake and chocolate mousse, finished off with homemade dulce de leche.
Extraordinary_Desserts_Dulce_De_Leche_Cake
Make sure to pair this decadent cupid with one of their delicious espresso drinks, like a Cappucinno.  Is cappuccino supposed to be capitalized? This one deserves to be capitalized… see for yourself.
Extraordinary_Desserts_CappuccinoHeeeeeaaavaaaaaaaannnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I’m pretty sure this is what everlasting love tastes like.

I must say, the crowd favorite, of my representative focus group of four, was the Passion Fruit Napolean.
Extraordinary_Desserts_Passion_Fruit_NapoleanThis dish of sweetness was pure happiness on a plate.  Truly!  I think you have to smile upon taking a bite, it’s like blinking and sneezing.  Can’t have one without the other.

I just got my copy of Extraordinary Cakes by Karen Krasne and Tina Wright a couple of weeks ago.  I think I’ve waited my whole life for this cookbook.
Extraordinary_Cakes_Karen_Krasne_Extraordinary_Desserts
This book really inspired me to start my blog.  There are so many beautiful pictures of her extraordinary cakes and desserts that I can’t help but want to be in the kitchen baking and trying new things.  This book presents new and exciting challenges… there’s going to be a lot of experimenting and mistake making.  I am certain this is the start of something great…  I can tell.

4 thoughts on “Extraordinary Desserts

  1. Thanks for the great suggestions “The Dessert Spot”! I have only tried the Dulce de Leche cake so far, so I can see I have my work cut out for me and a visit down to San Diego in my not too distant future. Keep the dessert info coming please!

Leave a Comment

